New Year, New Routine

Wow it’s been a long time since I blogged. So much for getting 2 posts up each month, lol. We are still plugging along, despite my lack of posts. We took a 1 week break at thanksgiving and a 2 week break at Christmas. Otherwise, we’ve been fairly consistent, minus a day here or there for illness, but we’ve typically made it up later. So all in all, it’s going very well. 

Now that winter has fully engulfed Michigan and we’ve gotten a few months under our belt, I used our break at Christmas to make some changes. Snowflake was getting bored with the same 8-10 activities each week and, to be honest, I was too. So I took pictures of all his learning activities, including a bunch of new Christmas presents, and redid the choice board. He now has 35 things to choose from. The goal is to pick 3-5 each morning and/or afternoon that we are home. I finished the chart last Thursday and he was raring to go on Friday. He wanted to do school first thing in the morning, even before his breakfast and morning cartoon. I take that as a good sign! Choice time activities take us about an hour; give or take depending on his level of engagement and focus. 


Handwriting and fine motor is one of his weak areas (typical for boys), so I added a handwriting section to our calendar time door. He loves it and is excited to write the letter or number of the week. Here’s a picture from earlier today. I don’t think he did too bad…. Now if I can just get him moved away from the fisted grasp… This portion of our school time takes us about 10-15 minutes. 


I love the flexibility we have with our schedule. A couple weeks ago, when everyone else was heading back to school, we were able to take advantage of the 40* day and go to the zoo. We just shifted our school time to another day. Also, it doesn’t matter what the weather is like outside, we still do school. And if we are feeling especially lazy, we don’t even have to get dressed. One day last week, instead of doing our choice activities in the library, we did them in a fort. He loved it. 

That’s the New Years update. I’ll attempt to go through the choice activity options in the coming weeks. I know several people have asked about the curriculum I’m using. Hopefully I get a chance to blog about that before March! 

Leave a Reply

