Motor Skills

I’m going to try to post once a week this month to highlight our 3 year preschool curriculum. Several people have asked what I do for certain subject areas, often because they want ideas for their own kids. Also, I want to be able to look back and remember what we did. 

We use the timberdoodle curriculum and I supplement with other activities to add variety. What I love about timberdoodle is how much of it is hands on–perfect for my always-on-the-go learner. When highlighting the different activities, I will make a note if the activity is something from timberdoodle and link to their website if I’m able (they change up their curriculum frequently so some things may no longer be available from them). Also, many of the activities fit into more than one category, so you may see them more than once as I go through everything. 

If you’ve followed me on Facebook for any length of time, you’ll know that Snowflake needs no help with his gross motor skills. 😬 He’s been climbing before he could walk and every other gross motor skill since has come naturally. We do provide lots of opportunities for him to practice these skills (and get the energy out). He has 2 trampolines (a big one in the basement and a small rebounder in the living room), we allow him to climb and jump on furniture (within reason), he loves riding his bike and running outside, throwing and catching balls of various sizes, playing on his swing set and spending a lot of time at playgrounds (weather permitting). 

While his gross motor skills are at or above where they should be, his fine motor skills are lacking (very typical for boys). His pencil grasp is still a fisted grasp half the time. It’s definitely getting better (it was fisted grasp 100% of the time back in September) but he’s still behind in this area. I’m working with him daily to get him caught up. Here are my favorite activities for fine motor practice: 

Let’s cut paper: Timberdoodle

Journal: just a notebook and a pencil. I like these pencils because they are easier for little fingers to hold. We practice writing letters, numbers and shapes. Also his name. 

Dry erase board: another medium for us to practice writing. I love this one with the extra wide lines. I got it from the target dollar spot about a year ago. 

Dot to dot for tiny tots: Amazon

Draw and learn animals: originally from timberdoodle but now found on Amazon. I love this book as it teaches placement of facial features and following directions, too. 

Kumon tracing and uppercase letters: I picked these up from 5 Below for $3 each but they are also on Amazon. Here and here

Trail mix and match: originally from timberdoodle but now on Amazon

Reusable sticker pads: he got these as a gift and there are several options on Amazon

Farm finger crayons: these are my all time favorite for helping those fine motor skills. Kids are forced to use their fingertips to draw. We use thes a lot for drawing/writing activities. Found on Amazon

Wooden lacing beads: this is something I’ve had from my years as a daycare provider. It’s similar to the trail mix and match but adds some variety and teaches numbers 1-10. Found here

Alphabet cookie cutters: we use these with play dough or baking sugar cookies. A great fine motor strength building activity. Found here

Letter stamps: I think I picked these up for less than $5 at hobby lobby. Again, these are great for working those fingertips. Any stamps will do, I like the letters because it covers a couple learning concepts. 

So there you have it. My top 12 activities for improving fine motor skills in preschoolers. 😊 Does your child struggle with fine motor skills? What are some of your favorite fine motor activities? 

Leave a Reply

